WHITFIELD-MANJIRO FRIENDSHIP SOCIETY, INC. <u>BOARD MEMBERS</u> (as of July 2011)

HONORARY

Dr. Shigeaki Hinohara, (Honorary President) Mr. Ichiro Fujisaki, Ambassador of Japan Senator Daniel & Mrs. Irene Inouye Mr. Takeshi Hikihara, Consul General in Boston Mr. Robert Whitfield, 5th generation descendant Ms. Kyo Nakahama, 5th generation descendant Mr. Scott Lang, Mayor of New Bedford Mr. Michael Silvia, Chairman, Fairhaven Selectmen Dr. Brian Bowcock, Fairhaven Selectman Mr. Charles Murphy, Fairhaven Selectman Mr. Akio Sugimura, Mayor of Tosashimizu Mr. Reizo Yoshida, associate

PARTICIPATING

JAPAN

Ms. Fujiko Hara, President, Diplomat, Inc.

- Mr. Kenzo Kiikuni, Chairman, Board of Sasakawa memorial Medical Foundation
- Mr. Junji Kitadai, Manjiro Historian ECM
- Mr. Mikio Kumagai, Sec. Gen., St. Luke's International Hospital Foundation
- Mr. Yoshio Okawara, former Ambassador

USA

President & CEO, Gerald P. Rooney, recipient of Order of the Rising Sun, Gold & Silver Rays - ECM

Vice-President, William Do Carmo, business man, community advocate - ECM Treasurer, Debra Almeida, Ph.D., long-time member – ECM

Secretary, Arthur Motta II, Dir. of Marketing, New Bedford Whaling Museum - ECM Cultural Advisor, Ayako Rooney, founding member – ECM

Ms. Ethel Cataldo, widow of Sister City Agreement signer, Selectman Joseph Cataldo Ms. Joan Doyon, WMFH tour guide -ECM Ms. Aline Duval – ECM Rev. Ann Fox, Minister, Fairhaven Unitarian UniversalistChurch – ECM

Ms. Joni Gaudiello, teacher, Bristol Community college Mr. David Gilbertson, business man, founding member Mr. Daniel Gifford, Architect Mr. Enrique Goytizolo, antique dealer, WMFH Curator Mr. Peter Grilli, President & CEO, Japan Society of Boston Ms. Gail Isaksen, Fairhaven business woman, community volunteer Mr. Albert Jones, community volunteer - ECM Ms. Susan Joseph, former member Ms. Carolyn Longworth, Director, Millicent Library, founding member Ms. Myra Lopes, author, President of Millicent Library Ms. Carolee Matsumoto, Ph. D., educational consultant Ms. Donna Maxfield, retired teacher - ECM Mr. Thomas Mello, WMFH tour guide - ECM Prof. Shigeru Miyagawa, Head of Foreign Language Dept., MIT Mr. Arthur Moniz, artist, proprietor, Arthur Moniz Gallery Ms. Cheryl Moniz, business woman, community volunteer Ms. Debbie Morris, Whitfield home owner Ms. Barbara Owen, past Treasurer - ECM Mr. Steven Paquette, craftsman Dr. Matthew C. Perry, 4th generation descendant Ms. Lori Richard, teacher, community volunteer - ECM Mr. James Russell, President, New Bedford Whaling Museum Mr. Michael Silvia, Fairhaven Selectman - ECM Ms. Jill Simmons, past member, New Bedford Police Dept. - ECM Ms. Mary-Ellen Tunney, LISW, - ECM Mr. Daniel Waltz, Pres. & CEO, Southern Mass Credit Union Ms. Cynthia Yoken, past member, retired teacher ADVISORY

Mr. Tsutomu Karino, Ex. Dir, & Sec., Japanese Chamber of Commerce & Industry, New York

Ms. Susan J. Onuma, Partner, Kelley & Drye Law Firm, New York

NOTE: ECM = MEMBER OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE